The End is Nigh…

Posted: February 19, 2012 in General

…and its time more of us begin talking about it.

Welcome to the introductory edition of American Endgame, a news source dedicated to the presentation and analysis of important economic and geopolitical information that will significantly impact our nation and its people.

First, I would like to share a bit of information about myself, mostly for the purposes of convincing you that I’m not one of these people that’s either lost his mind or is in the process.  I want to assure you that I am of sound mind, and fully aware that things I’m writing about may, at times, seem hard to accept.

By way of a biography, allow me to iterate that I am in my early 30s, married with children (not living in the basement of a dormitory or anything), and gainfully employed.  By way of true confessions, I was associated with a “liberal” political stance for most of my adult life, and supported pretty much all the public policies that came with that tag: social safety net, universal health care, gun control, limited war, etc.  The major exception is that I never really bought into the “globalization” of the economy (frankly, I don’t think most other liberals did, either).

However, in the last year, the lens through which I view the world has gone from a rosy hue to a decidedly cloudy gray…  I no longer support most initiatives that our President proposes to “fix” the economy, and I am turned off by the state of politics in America (for the record, I made more phone calls for Barack Obama the Candidate in 2008 than anyone in three counties in my state, and I am not sure that I will vote for him in 2012).  In addition, I am slowly road-testing the notion that regardless of who is elected President this November–President Obama or John Q. Republican–our economic and geopolitical problems will continue.  We can get more into my political views later, but for now, understand that you are reading the consciousness stream of someone who is in the midst of a political philosophy 180…

What caused this drastic change?  The US Public Debt now stands at $15,300,000,000,000 and change.  For the first time in American history, the amount of money our government owes to others is more than the net worth of our production as a country.  In other words, we don’t make enough money in a year to pay off what we owe.  Now, granted, not all of the $15 trillion must be paid back in a year, just like the principle I owe on my home is not due by December.  However, the realization that we had moved, for the first time, above 100% Debt-to-GDP Ratio led my brain to a whole series of questions: “Who do we borrow money from?”  “Where does the money come from?”  “Why have we suddenly run into this problem in the last 30 years?”  “What happens if we don’t start paying the principle back?”  I hope to give powerful primers on all of these topics as time goes on, but let it suffice to say that the answers scared me out of my liberal views.  The more I learn about America’s economic problems, the more I lean Straight Libertarian.

Our geopolitical reality is even more frightening.  The wars we’ve been fighting for the last 10 years–wars I believed were fought for convenience and/or profit–are in fact part of America’s survival strategy.  The only problem is that we were sold a War on Terror, when in truth these are proxy wars with nations around the world who have decided to end the system of Western dominance and move beyond the Pax Americana that has existed since the end of the Cold War.  Again, these topics will be explored.

My goal for this blog is to create a clearinghouse of information that can guide real people through the jungle of information I’ve hacked my way through for the last 9 months.  I will highlight news information, I will share other important blogs and web sites which all cover aspects of the American Endgame in detail, and I will present analysis to the best of my ability.  I hope you’ll follow along as I guide you through what I and many others believe will be a fascinating and potentially frightening period in our nation’s history.  If things go well, we may survive the gauntlet.  If not, America may look significantly different in the years to come.

~ Dark Smith

Leave a Reply

